Ubuntu On Sony Vaio FW Series

Tips & Tricks related to Sony Vaio FW series laptops

Sony finally unlock Intel Virtualization

with 15 comments

As I saw on Bernhard Froemel‘s blog, Sony plans to make bios updates with enabled VT. Sony decides to enable it after people complain about non working XP Mode in Windows 7.

I see people confirming it in comments, but I still can not find any update for my model on sony-europe.com

Written by egaistek

October 26, 2009 at 02:06

Posted in Vaio

Tagged with ,

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve already installed new BIOS in my fw-21j and it works!!

    🙂

    I had patched my BIOS with Igor Levicki’s patch anyway but, hey, great news!

    Teledhil

    October 26, 2009 at 02:56

  2. Any ideas on how to install this update on a machine that has no Windows on it?

    wzzrd

    October 27, 2009 at 21:29

    • Someone follow up on my post & confirm… but maybe from a Windows LiveCD?

      x.v_

      October 28, 2009 at 06:24

  3. welcome. I have a request to you. Can someone help me find a way to enable virtualization in sony vaio VGN-FW11M model? I can’t do this myself.

    Adam

    November 9, 2009 at 17:54

  4. I just updated my Sony VAIO FW290, Virtual Tech is now activated with a patch from Sony…
    Screen shoots bellow:


    T Wise

    November 11, 2009 at 13:52

    • Very nice! Where is this update for the FW290? (that’s the Vaio model I have too)

      Pepe Gonzales

      November 12, 2009 at 11:08

  5. T Wise where you find this update? In vaio site on your laptop? In my model – VGN-FW11M nothing 😦

    Who have this model of laptop what i have?

    Adam

    November 12, 2009 at 16:22

    • This Bios was on Sony support for US products. Go to the support and driver updates page and pick your vaio model (mine is FW290), then you will have to choose an OS, I had a vista home premium 64 and bios update was on the list. I tried to pick Windows 7 and the bios update was not there for some reasons…
      Here it is if you want…(this is for Vaio VGN FW290 and FW290E)
      http://www.teboka.com-a.googlepages.com/AIBSYS-00208409-1020.EXE

      T Wise

      November 15, 2009 at 16:01

      • I have the FW-290E with a P8400 CPU, previously working with VT, by Levicki patch.

        After updaing to the new bios from the US site, VT is disabled, there is a new option in the bios to enable VT but it is greyed out and I cannot select or change it.

        Ran the Levicki patch again and VT is enabled again, even though it still says [Disabled] in the bios?!

        t-bon3

        November 17, 2009 at 08:38

  6. I looked at the sony support website and it had nothing for the VGN-FW11M but the VGN-FW21E has the same specs except for the hard disk size ans bluray drive speed, so it should be safe to use that version, right?

    Which one should be a better choice, the VGN-FW21E firmware on my VGN-FW11M or the levicki’s patch ?

    rjlopes

    November 17, 2009 at 06:30

    • I decided to apply the levicki patch and it worked on my VGN-FW11M

      rjlopes

      November 21, 2009 at 04:32

  7. I am also having sony E series laptop..I am facing problem on running 64bit os on VIrtual box..It’s saying enabel VT on your bios….please help me..

    sauravmay Das

    May 4, 2010 at 21:12


Leave a Reply

