Ubuntu On Sony Vaio FW Series

Tips & Tricks related to Sony Vaio FW series laptops

VT-x/VMX Virtualization patch for Sony Vaio FW

with 47 comments

At this time thanks going to Peter Crees for pointing me to HOWTO Enable Intel VT on Sony VAIO by Igor Levicki (big thanks to him!), all you need is to do a bootable usb flash drive with DOS, put there VTPATCH files from downloads section of that howto. Then reboot into DOS from usb and run PATCH.BAT. Pretty easy 🙂

Here is a little howto make you flash drive bootable. Yea, it’s for windows, I did it in virtualbox, because I have windows installed there to test sites with IE. You can find another linux only solution, and I’ll put it here.

Cheers!

Written by egaistek

March 26, 2009 at 04:44

Posted in Vaio

Tagged with , , , ,

47 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A Linux only solution is going to be pretty hard, since it would require flashing the BIOS from Linux. Afaik there are no tools to do that.

    I did this, btw, and it works like a charm. Finally got KVM running on this baby. No thanks to Sony, all thanks to Igor.

    YMMV!

    Maxim

    March 26, 2009 at 14:33

  2. =) I mean how to do usb bootable flash drive with dos from linux, not flashing from linux.

    egaistek

    March 26, 2009 at 17:40

  3. Well, I tried this out and it worked beautifully! Thank you egaistek!

    BTW, I was able to use the instructions at http://www.aselabs.com/articles.php?id=243 to create a DOS bootable USB drive so I was able to do it entirely without Windows. The only problem I had with it was that dosemu kept mounting the thumbdrive as a CDROM and would crash the session when I would try to access it. I worked around it by just changing the .dosemurc file to read like this

    $_hdimage = “drives/* /dev/sdb1 /dev/sdb1”

    then it will work as the F: drive.

    Thank you again for all of the improvements you have help make to my laptop.

    Tamagotono

    March 28, 2009 at 21:49

  4. Hi egaistek!
    Not the best place to place this question (sorry) but are you aware of any way, any command, in order to control the power LED. In other laptops this is possible, I wonder if it’s the same with the FW’s.

    Thanks

    Rui

    April 1, 2009 at 18:40

  5. Rui, do you mean the green light of the power button? Well I don’t know what this can be used for, so I never searched about it ) Maybe you can describe.

    egaistek

    April 1, 2009 at 21:15

  6. hello,

    i have a sony vaio FW11L with an Intel Core 2 Duo P8400.
    I would like to know if VT is disable ? did this patch would work for my laptop ??

    thanks

    r2MI

    April 4, 2009 at 05:58

  7. Thanks egaistek!
    I just applied the BIOS patch on my VGN-SR19XN and VT instructions are now activated.

    Lionel

    April 4, 2009 at 16:05

  8. Hello Egaistek,

    Yes, I am referring to the green light (or orange in standby mode). I can describe it using the example of some Linux mail notifier applications, like Gmail Notifier, that has the option to blink the power button LED when a new mail is received. This option is set with a linux command.

    Cheers

    Rui

    April 13, 2009 at 04:43

  9. HI GUYS,

    i have a sony vaio FW with Ubuntu 8.10 64 on it

    does anyone use SKYPE? how can i get the internal MIC to work with it?

    i cant use the internal mic… i have to plug in my USB cam/mic to be able to talk into SKYPE

    any one facing the same problem???

    jungar

    April 13, 2009 at 22:42

    • Hello,

      if you still have problem with integrated microphone, try loading snd-hda-intel with parameter model=sony. You can have it automated by creating /etc/modprobe.d/vaio.conf

      with contents:

      options snd-hda-intel model=vaio

      It works with automatic switching of headphones for me, also microphone should work. At least it work on my VGN-FZ210C. Your model can be different, or similar, do not know.

      Pihhan

      July 22, 2009 at 18:46

  10. @jungar, unfortunately there is (probably) still no way to use it..

    but i’ve other question,
    is here anyone whom works fgrlx with 9.04?
    i have only X crashes all the time with it..

    bumper

    April 14, 2009 at 03:38

  11. will the Fn key work in ubuntu 9.04 ????

    jungar

    April 19, 2009 at 16:26

  12. I cannot get my Vaio to boot off my USB drive…I’ve switched the boot order starting with external drive and I have the next one as network boot. I’m not sure which one is the right one for a USB device. I made my device the exact way it was described in the link at the top and I even ran CMD to see the files on the thumb drive. Anyone know what I am doing wrong??? TIA

    Matt

    May 7, 2009 at 23:53

  13. BRAVO! … Works perfectly FW290

    dwade

    June 20, 2009 at 20:07

  14. Has anyone tested the VT patch on VGN-FW21M ? I just bought one and I’m interested in patching it 😉

    Andy

    July 3, 2009 at 02:11

  15. Well, I’ve patched it 😉 securable from grc.com shows that now it’s “Locked ON”, and MSR register 0x3a shows the value 0x0000000D instead of 0x00000009 which was before. So, I guess it’s ok.

    Andy

    July 6, 2009 at 02:30

  16. Bravo Works perfectly FW290e too… thanks million time. 😀

    Silin

    July 21, 2009 at 13:15

  17. Got it working on my VGN-FW41ZJ. Thanks a lot guys, you’re the best!

    Prophet

    August 8, 2009 at 20:55

    • I have a VGN-FW41ZJ with Ubuntu 11.04 only.I installed Windows XP in VMPlayer and use it to run a network software which cannot run on any other OS. I want to run MAC OS X Snow Leopard in VMPlayer;but the OS won’t start without VT enabled in the BIOS.i tried VPATCH on a DataTraveler G3 2GB Flash Drive and boot the computer in DOS with FreeDos.The process begins;but stops with a message which states that there was a problem or the process was aborted by the user.I need help,please and thanks.

      john Wynter

      June 1, 2011 at 17:15

  18. Brilliant!!

    Worked perfect with my VGN-FW11M Greek Model

    george

    August 9, 2009 at 01:48

  19. This Patched Worked on VAIO VGN-FW11M booted from stick..

    Fully enabled VT…

    Cybergod

    August 14, 2009 at 01:48

  20. This patch worked fine with VAIO VGN-FW46GJ. Thank you very much!!

    SU SU

    August 19, 2009 at 07:44

  21. Works perfectly on Vaio VGN-FW21E

    MightyWIzard

    August 22, 2009 at 18:25

  22. I have a FW390 and the patch worked. I also used the lost brain link for the dos drive. Worked great.

    bl

    Software Wrench

    September 2, 2009 at 09:22

  23. VGN-AW* – success

    ML

    October 4, 2009 at 06:09

  24. It worked on my FW41ZJ as well. Thanks!!!

    Gnuce Lee

    October 7, 2009 at 13:34

  25. hello;

    will this patch work for VGN-FW490jab; bios version
    R3100Y0. could anyone please tell me his guess?

    middo

    October 11, 2009 at 13:49

  26. New BIOS version for my fw-21j in sony’s web.
    Now we can enable virtualization in BIOS menu!!

    Yay!

    Teledhil

    October 26, 2009 at 00:34

  27. I’ve updated my Sony VGN-FW21M with Sony’s BIOS and I can confirm the addition of the “Enable virtualization” option in BIOS. It’s in the Advanced tab.

    Andy

    October 26, 2009 at 16:50

  28. Some friends wrote that this patch has worked with VGN-FW11M. I owe VGN-FW11E.. Has anyone tried with fw11e?

    Savas

    October 29, 2009 at 01:40

  29. I couldn’t wait for the response and tried. 🙂 Patch works great with fw11e..

    Savas

    October 29, 2009 at 03:10

  30. Savas: did you check Sony’s support site? It seems they’ve posted an updated BIOS that has the ability to enable virtualization without patching. At least for FW21M there’s a BIOS that can do this, maybe there’s one for FW11M too.

    Andy

    October 29, 2009 at 04:20

  31. Andy, yes I checked the support website. Unfortunately, there is not any bios update for fw11e. I think that the sony guys announced that update for win7 (for xp mode) And “supported models” starts with fw2xx. Not Fw1xx.

    Savas

    October 30, 2009 at 02:36

  32. Savas, I also got the fw11e.
    Is this patch safe for the fw11e too?
    What are the risks?

    PGTR

    November 12, 2009 at 04:26

  33. Check the Sony eSupport website, they have released a BIOS update for VT for more Vaio laptops including FW11E.
    Check it out!

    PGTR

    November 22, 2009 at 19:17

  34. Agree totally with Tamagotono comments. Just done this process to VGN-FW31ZJ. Works flawlessly, and now I get VT-x/VMX support in Sun VirtualBox 3.1.

    Excellent! I will keep at eye on this blog – brilliant.

    (running on Ubuntu 9.10 64bit)

    nick

    January 6, 2010 at 04:39

  35. Does the VT Patch 1.1 or BIOS Update Utility work for VGN-C920? Or is vt already enabled? I have looked it up and i can’t find anything. I would try but i dont want to brick my vaio.

    Eric

    January 26, 2010 at 08:40

  36. Sorry the vaio model is actually VGN-C290.

    Eric

    January 26, 2010 at 08:51

  37. the link provided to Igor’s website does not work anymore. does anyone still have this information ?

    No contact details on his website either….

    iggy

    April 22, 2010 at 03:09

  38. It’s not needed anymore, Sony has released an updated BIOS that enables the virtualization in the CPU.

    Andy

    April 22, 2010 at 03:44

  39. Guys, the link (as well as my website) works just fine, I guess that even my hosting company has to take the server to maintainance mode sometimes and you just had some bad luck when you visited.

    http://levicki.net/articles/tips/2009/02/20/HOWTO_Enable_Intel_VT_on_Sony_VAIO_notebook_with_AMI_Aptio_EFI_BIOS.php

    You can still use my patch if Sony hasn’t released a BIOS update for your model. 8,710 people who downloaded it so far can’t be wrong. Patch is safe, it won’t do anything if all pre-requisites are not met.

    Regards,
    Igor

    Igor Levicki

    May 9, 2010 at 05:45

    • Hi Igor,
      many thanks to you and all people contributing to this forum.
      I succeeded to patch my VGN-FW21E BIOS, booting from a USB pen, made dos bootable thanks to this howto:

      http://wiki.fdos.org/Installation/BootDiskCreateUSB

      I couldn’t even try Sony patch as it’s a .EXE and it requires Windows installed.
      At the moment i’m running on an Ubuntu 10.04 x86_64 and i’m very happy to take benefit from VMX virtualization capabilities.
      Best Regards.
      Giovanni Falcitelli.

      Giovanni Falcitelli

      July 22, 2010 at 14:30


Leave a Reply

