Ubuntu On Sony Vaio FW Series

Tips & Tricks related to Sony Vaio FW series laptops

Moved to Intrepid

with 5 comments

So I have updates to 8.10 completly.

Wifi works out of box.

Fglrx installed from Hardware Drivers works. Compiz works with fglrx (but there is still a scrolling lag in Firefox, so I’m not using Combiz because of that).

Audio works (using ALSA everywhere). When you plugin headphones laptop speakers does not turn off.

I can’t make work a radeonhd driver from repos, I guess I need to compile a new one.

Edu mentioned that we can enable brightness control with radeonhd, I’m going to do that after I make radeonhd works. (checked, xbacklight does not work)

Bluetooth works (my switcher not).

My wireless mouse works (well it works anywhere 🙂

Undervolting stops working, need update for new kernel. My CPU is cool enough I guess (41C right now).UPD

I have moved back to powernowd from cpufreqd (cpu is hotter with it, maybe someone saw that too?)

I thought there will be new OpenOffice 3, but there is only 2.4, and old Firefox (3.0.3)

P.S. Tried to update another laptop today, but repos speed is too low, maybe it’s overloaded, seems people update their Ubuntu today too =)

P.P.S. I’ll update post if remember something bad =)

UPD: xbacklight does not work.

Written by egaistek

November 9, 2008 at 01:54

Posted in Vaio

Tagged with , , , , , ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey cool. Do all FW’s have the same sound chip? I have a fw190 but I could not get Alsa to work for everything. I made a post about it in your surround sound post. Im going to reinstall the release and update to see if its fixed now.

    I also had problems with outputting HDMI to my hdtv with fglrx – my laptop screen would only show the top half and would pan across the desktop.

    By the way what kernel are you running? Ive noticed that the server kernel shows that my ram is 3.9gb but in hardy it reports 4.0gb

    p.s. I hope you can figure out randeonHD because Ive been trying forever and could not do it. Or if there is a way to get brightness working in fglrx then I will be very happy.

    Mohammad

    November 11, 2008 at 01:22

  2. I’m on radeonhd now, and xbacklight does not work.
    On server kernel, and yep, it shows 3.9Gb, seems new kernel reserved some memory =)

    I have no hdmi display, so I have not tested it at all.
    Try to change display orientation in Catalyst Control Center (if you’re on fglrx).

    And for brightness try this new comment: https://vaioubuntu.wordpress.com/2008/11/09/fglrx-and-powerplay/#comment-119

    I think they all have the same audio chip, but I’m not sure.

    egaistek

    November 11, 2008 at 01:41

  3. Hi again, it was a friend who enabled the brightness control, I’ll ask him what he did exactly.

    Edu

    November 11, 2008 at 06:30

  4. what about HDMI? if im on ubuntu 8.10 in sony FW, and want watch a movie .. will it be full HD?

    if i link a HDMI cable to the TV, and play a movie in ubuntu, will it be HD?

    jungar

    November 11, 2008 at 20:46

  5. Ubuntu video drivers can not use video card to decode HD video. But if you install CoreAVC codec you can watch FullHD movies without lags in Ubuntu (possibly through hdmi, I have not tested it).
    But in Windows you can watch FullHD from Blueray disc out of box. But if you need to watch avi/mkv files encoded in H.264 or AVC1 with FullHD resolution you need to install CoreAVC for better performance anyway.

    egaistek

    November 12, 2008 at 04:15


Leave a Reply

