Ubuntu On Sony Vaio FW Series

Tips & Tricks related to Sony Vaio FW series laptops

Back to Hardy

with 6 comments

Yes, I’ve moved to hardy, while fgrlx bug is not fixed.

Installed Hardy, then downloaded fglrx driver from ati.com and installed it too.

If you have xorg-driver-fglrx package installed, you should remove it first.

Now all works like on Intrepid, but with 3D and Compiz =)

I have Intrepid still installed on another partition, so I’ll keep watch that bug.

Written by egaistek

September 10, 2008 at 20:28

Posted in Vaio

Tagged with , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] & Tricks Just another WordPress.com weblog « Video: Ati Mobility Radeon HD 3470 Back to Hardy […]

  2. hello,

    I was wondering if your fn keys were working in hardy, I cant seem to change the brightness. Also I cant hibernate or suspend, the system gives me a kernel failure. I already tried installing sony-laptop, sonypi, and sony_acpi modules but didnt help. I have a FW190E with Ati radeon

    Mohammad

    September 20, 2008 at 17:22

  3. It’s the same like on Intrepid, mute works and scroll lock/pause/break but not others.
    You can’t change brightness even without fn keys there is just no suitable drivers for fw.

    egaistek

    September 20, 2008 at 22:42

  4. It’s here!!! FGLRX for intrepid. I am using it now on my VGN-FW139E/H and glxgears is giving me between 2300 and 4500 FPS. much better than the 270 FPS the radeon driver was giving me.

    Just thought you would want to know!

    Tamagotono

    October 15, 2008 at 11:15

  5. wow, sounds good, I’ll try to update today

    egaistek

    October 15, 2008 at 12:16

  6. […] a comment » Following this comment I have updated my Intrepid installation on another partition to […]


Leave a Reply

