Ubuntu On Sony Vaio FW Series

Tips & Tricks related to Sony Vaio FW series laptops

12.04 Precise Pangolin on Vaio FW

with 6 comments

CE-THD_assoc_300x250

 

Updated some time ago. Moved back to Unity from Gnome Shell (there was bugs in Unity in previous releases). Brightness and keys works correctly.

And some time ago I moved from fglrx drivers to open-source drivers. Now hd video works pretty good, no glitches in Unity compizing.

A while ago I did a hardware DIY upgrade, I added SSD to existing HDD, so I now have 2 drives installed. SSD for fast loading and slow apps like Java, Eclipse etc. Pretty fast now.

I will defenetly make a post about SSD+HDD upgrade with pictures in near feature =)

Written by egaistek

May 28, 2012 at 21:56

Posted in Vaio

Tagged with , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice, i’ve upgraded mine with a SSD+HDD.

    My opinion is that OSS drivers are very good at this point, but they have a very bad power management, my PC hotter than ever with those one :(
    I’ll change to it when they have it worked out.

    Best

    Jose Pereira

    May 28, 2012 at 22:00

    • That was the case not using open-source drivers for me too. But now it’s better, yes it’s hotter a bit, but fan is not on forever like it was. 52C at normal conditions. When it gets hotter quick, like was mine when whatching flash/youtube in hd to 80+C, most commonly it is because of dust =) Yea I cleaned it 3 times already. Thick layer of dust between heatsink and fan, it’s not visible from outside. Last time I even disassemle fan for cleaning and added some oil, it’s a bit quiter now.

      How you made your SSD+HDD upgrade? I never used dvd drive so I just removed it and used that space (before that I was thinkg to add a battery there like on thinkpads) and installed ssd to regular hdd bay.

      egaistek

      May 28, 2012 at 22:15

  2. Hi! I haven’t updated yet to PP 12.04, but with the last distros, my FW21E did much noise with the fan… someone have found a solution to the noise-fan? (vaio fand didn’t work).
    I have an ATI mobility radeon HD 3400.
    Thank you!
    PS great hardware choice! ;)

    Mattia (@qotino)

    August 2, 2012 at 17:35

    • Probably dust. Heatsink there gets filled with dust so I’m cleaning it once in a while when temperature keeps staying at 55+C while idle.

      egaistek

      April 21, 2013 at 03:57

  3. its nice to see you posting back again egaistek!
    I did the same upgrade (SSD) with my fw11e and 12.04 and very pleased with both stability and functionality.
    However ongoing versions 12.10,13.04 has xserver and kernel upgrade. Ati announced that HD34xx cards are not supported for this upgrades anymore.
    I know that there are patches for that but I’m not satisfied with that workarounds.
    Open source drivers were allways has issues with power management and fan voice issues for me.
    After ssd upgrade I am very pleased with my 5 year old vaio in both windows (7) and ubuntu. However my next viao (may be not vaio) will definitely has intel graphics.

    Savas

    April 22, 2013 at 13:00

    • Yea, I’m on 12.10 and using radeonhd instead of fglrx. And I’m not using Unity for now, had some issues with memory flooding and then Unity becomes slow. Definitely I will never trust AMD again =)

      egaistek

      April 22, 2013 at 21:11


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

